

WASHINGTON, DC 20510

February 15, 2022

The Honorable Joseph R. Biden President of the United States 1600 Pennsylvania Ave NW Washington, DC

Dear Mr. President:

We write to request that you include \$5 billion in election security grants in your Fiscal Year (FY) 2023 budget for the Election Assistance Commission (EAC) to distribute to states and local governments for improvements to the administration of federal elections. Free and fair elections are the cornerstone of our democracy, and we know that you share our commitment to ensuring our elections are well funded so that all Americans can make their voices heard at the ballot box.

During the 2020 general election, nearly 160 million Americans voted – more than ever before, in an election that the Department of Homeland Security called the "most secure in American history." This was possible with help from the election security grants Congress provided in FYs 2018 and 2020, as well as emergency funding through the *CARES Act* in 2020, which provided election officials with resources to take on the additional obstacles of administering safe and secure elections during the coronavirus pandemic.

While past funding has been critical, we must continue to help both state and local election officials modernize their voting equipment, improve the administration of elections, and strengthen cybersecurity for election systems. Six states still widely use voting systems that do not produce paper ballots. The EAC also recently approved an updated version of the voluntary voting system guidelines that will lead to investments in more modern voting systems. In addition, election officials are facing a surge in threats and harassment that have left many worried for their safety, raising concerns about the ability of state and local governments to retain and recruit officials, workers, and volunteers for future elections.

One analysis published last December found that over the next decade approximately \$50 billion would be needed for election administration and security. Based on this analysis, a group of Secretaries of State and Chief Election Officials have also requested that the federal government provide \$5 billion in election grants for FY 2023.

In addition to annual appropriations, we remain committed to advancing legislation that will provide election officials a reliable stream of funding to make ongoing improvements to election administration. While funding is not a substitute for Congress passing comprehensive legislation to protect the freedom to vote and stop the ongoing attacks on our democracy, we must ensure that state and local election officials continue to receive the resources needed to administer, improve, and modernize our elections.

Thank you for your attention to this critical issue. We look forward to continuing to work with you to strengthen our democracy.

Sincerely,

Amy Klobuchar

United States Senator

Richard J. Durbin

United States Senator

Jack Reed

United States Senator

Gary C. Peters

United States Senator

Ron Wyden

United States Senator

Tina Smith

United States Senator

Angus S. King, Jr.

United States Senator

Richard Blumenthal

United States Senator

Elizabeth Warren

United States Senator

Raphael G. Warnock
United States Senator

Edward J. Markey United States Senator

Alex Padilla
United States Senator

Christopher S. Murphy United States Senator

Michael F. Bennet United States Senator

Bernard Sanders
United States Senator

Cory A. Booker United States Senator

Martin Heinrich United States Senator

Jeffrey A. Merkley
United States Senator

Tim Kaine

United States Senator

Mazie K. Hirono
United States Senator

Tammy Baldwin
United States Senator

Jon Ossoff United States Senator

Robert P. Casey, Jr.
United States Senator

John Hickenlooper United States Senator

Jeanne Shaheen United States Senator

Panne Shaheen

Christopher A. Coons United States Senator

Dianne Feinstein United States Senator

Kirsten Gillibrand United States Senator Debbie Stabenow
United States Senator

Sherrod Brown
United States Senator

Showed Brown

Tammy Duckworth
United States Senator

Robert Menendez
United States Senator

Catherine Cortez Masto United States Senator